Hammin’ it Up for Turkey Day!

Standard

So, according to the U.S. Department of Agriculture, about 45 million turkeys are eaten on Thanksgiving and according to me, I don’t care how many turkeys become someone’s meal, I just don’t like them. I have never been a huge fan of the other other other white meat.  Not sure if it’s the taste, preparation or tryptophan coma that ensues but I always preferred eating a whole bunch of sides as my Thanksgiving feast.  This year, our usual 4-person T-day vacay plans got the kibosh and now we are celebrating with the entire family here at home. I’m not complaining…yet. Just kidding, kinda. I thought I could take this opportunity to prove my culinary skills all the while dodging that dreaded bird.

Let me just tell you, I love ham. No explaination necessary. Two genius ideas become one: bake a ham for Thanksgiving! While some might see this as sacreligious –  I see it as innovative.  Throw the proverbial rule book out the window and come join my team.

Now what would a Thanksgiving Ham be without a little Mai Tai? I’m so glad that you asked because that is exactly what we will be making today!

I present to you, the Tale of the Tiki Baked Ham with a Mai Tai Pineapple Glaze (lengthy title but I assure you it tastes delicious)….

ingredients

I used a Mini Ham for this recipe because, well, mini hams are just the cutest things I have ever seen…and also, if I completely botched this thing- I wouldn’t have to eat as much failed ham.

mini ham

Start with the can of pineapples, drain about half the juice and place the rest of the contents into a cylindrical container.

Pineapple in juice

Then add about a cup and a half (or more if you’d like) of Bob Chinn’s World Famous Mai Tai to fill up the container. Gently stir, allowing the Mai Tai to mix in well with the pineapples. Put the container off the side and let it marinate while you complete the next steps.

mai tai tetra_pineapple

Using a carving knife, cut the ham lengthwise and widthwise, going about an two inches deep and half inch apart.

you cut the ham

Taking the container of our Mai Tai Pineapple concotion, pour the juice into the slits you just made in the ham. Please note that I am a klutz, so this is where it became a two-person project. * I poured half of the Mai Tai/Pineapple juice into the ham and then poured the other half over the entire thing after I pinned the pineapples.

maitai juice in ham

Using some toothpicks, pin the pineapples to the ham. *not pictured: this the part where I added the brown sugar. I used about a handful and packed it onto the outside of the ham, be sure to get some into the cuts too

pineapple pinning

Wrap the ham with aluminum foil and throw that bad boy (or girl, I guess) in the oven.

ham in the oven

The instructions on the mini ham said cook for 2 hours, so after about an hour and half, I took it out to drizzle the packet of glaze/spices it came equipped with. *this also why I used the mini ham….it came with idiot proof instructions. I covered it up and stuck it back in the oven for another half hour.

glazing the ham

Okay, so is it just me, or does this mini ham bear a striking resemblance to Pinhead of the Hellraiser fame? Hmmmm?

Ham_Pinhead

Okay, getting back on track here…. When the last half hour passes, I remove the ham from the oven and take off the foil to reveal…. TAH DAH… my spectacular Pineapple Mai Tai Glazed Mini Ham!

ham cut

Click HERE for a printable version of recipe

Pineapple Mai Tai Glazed Ham Recipe Card

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Ham Balls: A Pennsylvania Dutch Delicacy | The Great American Feast

Leave a Reply

